Monday, August 31, 2009

Last time on bookseller annoymous

Anyways. I have worked 3 times at the bookstore I work at. Yeah kinda sad. 3 times in the last 2 weeks. Its my life. I wait for the day the calendar kiosk opens. I cant believe I'm saying that. I'm one whos big on numbers but hates them. How else do you figure we moved out here in Nov 2007. But this is my 3rd year at the kiosk and only our 2nd yr out here? Yeah...I know.

I worked on Friday August 21st 2009. I was all alone this time around. I was dropped off at Panera and walked to Jack in the Box before walking to the store. My boss told me come in at 6...yeah right. 6! I come in and look at the schedule, its now being 4:45pm and it says 5-11:30?? How'd that happen? Dont know. In all good nature, my super. "B" said it was fine 5 or 6. Even though I did clock in at 4:45 to be safe. It okay....

First I was to do RPL's finished up last weeks dvd list. It took me till my break at 8:30pm. Yeah I know. I had people needing help too. I helped at least 4 people. Why did two of them need help as I was already bending down in the dvd case? I mean seriously. Why did it seem like the perfect moment to ask for help when I was in such a position? One guy was so dang persistant. He wanted "Pinky and the Brain" which isnt even at the store. I went to the computer to check a movie for him and that after I had gotten the case closed (it didnt want to close for me, stupid case!). And he had already checked that Pinky wasnt there. I was still baffled. Come on. A 90's kids show? Yeah right. But I although I think the movie was in the store, I didnt see him anymore. Sure he had to hang around making me nervous while the cases wasnt closing. But the moment I am done and trying to help him he just has to disappear. I am still wondering what the point was?

After my half hour break I spent the rest of the night from like 10pm to 11:30pm doing shelving. Then cause I happened upon the week where they do "sheets" I had to do a "sheet". "B" helped me do the part for RPL's (2.5 hrs) and shelving (1hr). He thought I did okay.

Oddly enough got that sheet back when I came in few days later...I dont get the point but okay...

The next two days were in a row. I worked Monday, August 24th and Tuesday, August 25th. Both days with Mel and Deane. And both days were late. We worked 5pm to 2am. Although Deane was off both days at 12am. Mel wasnt supposed to have worked at all on Monday. But I called ahead and our boss "J" said he would work her in. Thankful for that one. Otherwise she would have had to have killed 9 hrs alone in Franklin while I was working. Hum.

So back to this. Monday I spent the majority of the night moving around the section. The self improvement was a mess with the health and no order. So I had to spend the whole night moving it. We also got to meet our new assistant mgr "C" no its not our friend "C" and no offense but he is no "C". "C" was cool and he was from California and we shared a lot in common. The new "C" is okay though and nice at times. Still he is new and getting used to things...

Yeah. I spent the whole night moving. My arm had been hurting me all night, my poor left arm. But I did my best to "go really fast" as my boss said. It was near impossible to do what I was doing fast. And I got dizzy few times forgetting which set I was moving at the time. But I got it done. And at 1am I was done and ready to help shelve again this time with Julian and Mel. We did fict cart and so on and so on. Oh and our break Deane, Mel and me hit up Captain D's yup great food!

Tuesday August 25th. Mel is scheduled tonight this time and we are set to go! Our dinner later was Jack in the Box what fun with Deane again! Yeah! But first was shelving. This time around my left arm was so sore it took me ages to get the only cart I had done. I had to move and shelve all with one hand almost the whole night! But I got something done, most of the cart. I would have done more but from 9pm to 12am I was just fixing up the whole middle sections for the maybe visit the next day. I still dont know if it happened. It might have happened Wednesday OR Thursday OR not at all! Yeah I know....so that hurt me a lot. And I was bumned by nights end that my arm was still sore almost as when I came in. But it okay. From 12 to 1:30 I did shelving. And then at 1:30 to 2:20 we took out trash. We got out kinda late. It okay, I need the extra $$.

Okay I am bored. That was my last 3 days of the bookstore. I dont work as of present day at all this week. I hope that changes. I truly do. I need the $$. And cant wait to do the calendars. At least it will be hours and money that we need so bad. We need more money then we both make.

Till I work again, this is bookseller signing off. G'night.

No comments:

Post a Comment