Sunday, August 10, 2014
My memoir has working beginning paragraph...
“As a child I was given paper money and coins and a toy cash register. It was so much fun to play with ringing people up and buying things. It made me realize how neat it was and how much fun it would be to do it later in life. I did not know back then that I had begun to be a retail person at such a young age. Playing with money is not as fun as an adult as a child and running a register in real life is so much more responsibility then it seems as a kid. But yet that fun thing I did with money and coins really installed a love of this and I believe inbred in my desire to make that the type of job I would do later in life for many years to come…”
What do you think? I am working on this and want to perfect it but it came to me while at work the other night how kids today still play with money and coins and registers and how I did the same when I was young and LOVED it! It went along with dolls and the kitchen and stuff. It was there a founding part of my childhood. Who knew it would become my career for many years to come?
That is all for now. Carry on my retail friends till next entry!
Monday, August 4, 2014
What is customer service: I am a slave to you
I am a slave. I work for a master and I am a slave. Now you are wondering what I mean but it is the truth. The slave is the people I give customer service to. You might not think of yourself as a master but they are your slaves.
After all the customer is always right and I know that to be true. Even if they are wrong we try to “keep them happy” because the business I work for depends not only on them buying stuff now but coming back and telling others.
If I am bad to them they wont come back and could tell others like wise. Empty threats are real when you work for the customer. I do not work for the company I work for the customer.
I guess that is why it doesn’t make sense when other jobs similar like those just in customer service but not retail think that retail ISNT customer service. Hi I work for the customer who do you work for?
I pitty those who think that retail is the end all to be all. As I have seen several people along my line say and I say it to: you cant move up very often so you are stuck doing these part time jobs making little hours as possible if its “slow” because after all you work for the customer.
Retail is easy but not for everyone. You have to be a people person. Your joy in life like me must be because you like to be with people. You like to talk to them, observe them, help them, and serve them. Why else is it called “customer SERVICE”? Yeah that.
I worked at a theme park for kids for a while. We served the customer but the biggest one was the little people the kids. We always were trained to talk to the kids even if they were just with their mommy, daddy, aunt, uncle, etc. So in that case you serve the kids not the adults. It was an odd job but I still love it.
I think the worse part about not working in retail is when you aren’t you feel weird. You realize that you don’t have to smile all the time, force yourself to act nice when someone is acting stupid, help people even if it’s a burden to you. You are okay because that is how it is when you don’t work in retail anymore.
But you miss it. So you crave it like something you cant have and shouldn’t. Its addicting but not in the best way. I don’t think anyone would admit that much but working in retail isn’t good for you in the long run. Unless you are a higher up someone lucky or made for that kind of job. But if you like me are only meant to be in the bottom part the part time person the person there to serve and respond to work the least amount of hours and get the least pay but still work the slave part of it.
Hi I am a slave. You are my master. Please be kind. And maybe just think about all this next time you shop at a store of any kind. (Although fast food places and restaurants have their own issues and another form of customer service). That we serve you. When you say jump we have to say how high. Because that is what we do!
Thursday, July 31, 2014
My future memoir has a title! Yes it does...
I have decided on a title for my RETAIL memoir. I need to work on details but thought I would comment on that. It will be called “How may I help you?” “My __ (age to be determined) years in retail and how I finally escaped”.
The book will detail all I can and want from EVERY retail job I have had over the years starting in 1998. So at this point its 16 years worth. I am unsure for now when my last retail job will be and so I cant say how long it will be in the title but it would be nice for my current retail job to be my last and for this to all end by next year (therefore it would be 17 years!). Shall see.
I just need to dedicate myself to writing details down and working on this. I can work on past jobs while working this one. And leave this one till last. All the gory details I can recall.
Since 2004 I have been keeping work journals for all my jobs. I began with Barnes & Noble when I knew they were closing and my original idea was to just write about a job I loved because it was going away. But figured it would be more interesting to do ALL my retail jobs. However B&N was only my 2nd retail job so I have held MANY since then some I don’t even tell anyone about as the jobs ended badly or were very short.
This will all come out in the memoir and wont matter as I wont be in retail anymore. I have decided to not change names of the business either who cares at that point. It wont affect me. I wont name actual co-workers I can change that but the business itself will be there.
I need to get my work journals they are currently in my garage (or in storage but I do think they are at home and not there) and that will help too for jobs before my move out here in 2011).
Monday, March 1, 2010
Calendar Kiosk Year 3, Day 1
We arrived at the mall at 6am but like the year before we had to wait for security to come let us in. The mall doesnt open till 7am for the "walkers" so we had to be early. And due to a mix up first time ever we opened Kiosk 4416 FIRST! Also this was my Grandmas birthday so it wasnt a happy day for me but I made do. Mel and me worked same shift till 12:40pm. We worked with Daniel, Landon, and Nate. First we got shown the new larger stock room (finally got the biggest one!). Then we were divided up in our sections to unload. I applaud Nate for being so organized it helped us get it done. The mall open at 10am and we had to be done with the boxes by then none on floor if possible. Debs walked by and said hello she was happy to see us! Of course the scanners and register arent working yet (whats new?). All transactions by hand but we had none by time we left.
Welcome back to the kiosk. This is my 3rd year doing it, my 2nd full year. And I plan for real that it be my last.
Wednesday, February 24, 2010
2008 to 2009 What Changed At My Bookstore Job
Point being cause there is one I loved my present job at Borders BEST in 2008 and this is why:
First of all I had just gotten hired on from the kiosk and everyone seemed to like me. After a few weeks of using the register, the headphones and meeting all the people who worked there I began to love the store. Sure there was this one manager noone liked (who left later on) but I made friends a lot. I thought everyone liked me too. I had few problems with customers, got at least 2 to 3 days if not more per week and had fun.
I loved the headphones to the point my last few months of that part of the job I spent those writing the stuff said down in a journal. I have it still somewhere it was FUN. The co-workers were funny, and I liked most people there I still had few problems.
Plus I was good at my job. I sold the coffee beans on Fridays, I got lots of donations for the various ones, and my borders rewards numbers only fell once below the required line. I loved my job what could I say?
Even when I had to get up early, it was fun. Sure I eventually took on Childrens Place my second month there. But for some reason I never clicked with my manager. And so when the calendar kiosk opened up in Sept 2008 I was more than happy to go to it.
Then I had problems with my lead cause we never fully got along at the store and now he was above me. Even if he was 10 yrs younger then me he was my lead and I respected him.
Well after my time at the kiosk second year was very much not as great as the first I hoped to go back to the store back where I loved it. But in 2009 Borders wasnt doing so well and my manager didnt like me still enough to give me hours. So in 2009 I didnt work at the store anymore not really.
Those who did work didnt work much, the store was dropped to only a few employees and a lot of my friends had to leave. With few hours for those part time people (only about 2 or 3 were full time who werent supervisors or managers) and sometimes none my friends were going away. Even leaving cause of the way they treated us who they didnt like with no hours at all.
I did RPL's and hoped for one day to be back on register. I never really learned customer service fully but learned more on the floor then I had on register. They never trained me. But when they cut back those who had the training was everyone and I was left out.
So when the kiosk number 3 came up, I did it for the hours I didnt have much of all year long. I also vowed to never come back again. My company hates me. I havent worked there at all since January 27th 2010.
So from 2008 to 2009 my store that I once loved went down the drain. I love retail sometimes, and sometimes I dont. But what I hate is the people and those who are above me dont like me enough to give me hours when I know I do deserve them much more that some others because of experience. Come on almost 10 yrs of retail why doesnt this count at all?
Till next time retail land I shall write again!
Wednesday, December 30, 2009
I'm starting to think I hate retail
I worked these lengthens and this jobs.
1. Toys International (3 months)
2. Barnes & Noble (3 yrs 11 months)
3.Lego Store (2 yrs 3 months)
4. Legoland Retail (3 months)
5. Barnes & Noble the second (7 months)
6. Borders Books (2 yrs 20 days)
7. Childrens Place (5 months)
9 yrs 8 months. My gosh thats almost 10 yrs worth of retail. Do you wonder why I am now SICK of it? Why am I sick of it?
First of all are the stupid customers. I mean it. They are stupid. You cant tell me they arent. Now dont get too offensive if you have used anything I am about to say on some poor retail person but if you have then shame shame on you! I too shop. I go in stores and buy things, I go and buy fast food and sit in restaurants. Sometimes I rent a movie or go to the theater. So while people behave like this I do not if I do rarely do I try to act like a dummy like they do.
But yet they come and with their questions they ask me and I want to slap the next person who asks me this question related to calendars cause I am back at the kiosk again! "Are they ALL 50% off?" Hang on. Stop its not right! They are ALL half off.
We put up these clear signs that read "ALL CALENDARS 50% OFF" They arent hidden. They are EVERYWHERE! Incase you missed that EVERYWHERE! We have one on each set of the 4 outer racks, they are 1 on each shelf that faces outside (thats 8 total for each side 2 sides of them). They are also inside too far as I know. They are pretty much everywhere but hanging from the freaking computer screen.
Yet I get this question EVERY day! "Are they ALL on sale?" No they arent miss/ma'am/sir. They are except the one you are holding.
Yes this includes planners, box calendars (after all it says calendar), planners are desk calendars (least you think they arent), and the list goes on and on...
However dont you dare think to ask if the stickers, games, bears, balls, are half off. I think they say the wraps are half off.
But clear as day though the sign reads EVERYTHING I want to scream.
Now I hate retail. Its not the nice regular people. Those are great. Its not the handling cash I am very good at it. Its just that retail isnt good to me! Its not.
Look at it this way...I have been at this job for over 2 yrs, I wont get a raise a second one if that till mid next year maybe. I hope I'm not with the company. Why do they think I want to live off that? I am responsible, I come to work and I dont call out. I am not short on drawers, nice and smile I am helpful. But they wont trust me to open, nor to close. They hold back raises and act like I dont deserve them.
Its no wonder I have never moved up in a company...they dont think I got the right stuff. So I know for a fact adding up numbers too high to think of. I am not made for retail for good. And that means that retail isnt good for me!
Why do people do retail? Its easy! They want an EASY job! Run a register, talk to people, help people, clean, stand on your feet all day and look happy. Not everyone follows the happy rule but I worked over 2 yrs at a place by Disneyland (Lego Store) and we had to smile ALL the time so I know that horrible thing called happy and all that junk. It causes you to be happy if you want to or not.
Whats not to love about retail? When its slow your hours suck you have to work several jobs to survive. Yeah sounds fun right? No! Its not!
I dont know however why you have to have experience to get a job or I had to for my first one...what do you need to know? Register CHECK customer service CHECK (I had that at the theater I helped get their food and drinks, cleaned up their bathrooms and theaters and took their tickets all with a SMILE and that wasnt retail).
Now not everyone is made for retail. Yet I am great at it. I have ADD I hate being borded and yet here I am. A "people person" yeah i heard that one for real once. People like me. And sometimes they dont. My lovely personality clashes like violent waves in the ocean to people. So I cant say that i am always liked.
In fact every job I have had minus like 1 has included someone a lead, supervisor or manager who didnt like me. Well Lego everyone liked me but i didnt always get along with some of them...but we did get along most of the time. So I guess 2?
Retail has hidden rules they dont tell you about:
1. Always taking applications=we arent hiring but feel free to turn something in, waste your time and with a slime shot we might hire someone we might call you(I did get my 2nd retail job at Barnes & Noble when they werent hiring but only taking so I cant say it dont work!)
2. If you are going for a clothing store job they want you to look "pretty" and "fashionable" I havent gotten one clothing job and I think its cause I am not skinny and never a big girly fashionable person (cause I never had money nor cared to be if I had it).
3. Retail is more then a cashregister its really more than just that. Its helping people, and thats what retail is. Selling products, helping people find those products, ringing them up, and cleaning up after them. Retail is truly a CUSTOMER SERVICE JOB without the snaze of a little desk where people talk on the phone all day.
4. With that in mind feel free to apply after any retail job for any job that requires customer service experience because you stink in it when you work retail. It is all you do. You are and work for the CUSTOMER. Just recall that. If you dont keep them happy you dont make business, which means no hours, and no paychecks. Customers drive retail jobs whether up or down. The economy can be crappy now but its all about what people want to buy. They want cheap stuff, nice people (who put up with their especially holiday crappy moods), and they want it all right then!
5. Dont forget PATIENCE. You must have it. People will not always talk clear, come up with super stupid questions, ponder why things are in where you work (like you know!), and will expect you to know it all have it all no matter what. They always want you to know more about stuff then they do. Even if you dont you should. So beware you must have patience and also be okay with being critized from the moment you walk in.
So you want to be in retail? Good! Go for it. But dont blame me when you question where the last 10 yrs of your life went but spent going nowhere, being walked on and in the end wondering why you started this in the first place!
Retail at its best and worst is me! :/
Monday, August 31, 2009
Last time on bookseller annoymous
I worked on Friday August 21st 2009. I was all alone this time around. I was dropped off at Panera and walked to Jack in the Box before walking to the store. My boss told me come in at 6...yeah right. 6! I come in and look at the schedule, its now being 4:45pm and it says 5-11:30?? How'd that happen? Dont know. In all good nature, my super. "B" said it was fine 5 or 6. Even though I did clock in at 4:45 to be safe. It okay....
First I was to do RPL's finished up last weeks dvd list. It took me till my break at 8:30pm. Yeah I know. I had people needing help too. I helped at least 4 people. Why did two of them need help as I was already bending down in the dvd case? I mean seriously. Why did it seem like the perfect moment to ask for help when I was in such a position? One guy was so dang persistant. He wanted "Pinky and the Brain" which isnt even at the store. I went to the computer to check a movie for him and that after I had gotten the case closed (it didnt want to close for me, stupid case!). And he had already checked that Pinky wasnt there. I was still baffled. Come on. A 90's kids show? Yeah right. But I although I think the movie was in the store, I didnt see him anymore. Sure he had to hang around making me nervous while the cases wasnt closing. But the moment I am done and trying to help him he just has to disappear. I am still wondering what the point was?
After my half hour break I spent the rest of the night from like 10pm to 11:30pm doing shelving. Then cause I happened upon the week where they do "sheets" I had to do a "sheet". "B" helped me do the part for RPL's (2.5 hrs) and shelving (1hr). He thought I did okay.
Oddly enough got that sheet back when I came in few days later...I dont get the point but okay...
The next two days were in a row. I worked Monday, August 24th and Tuesday, August 25th. Both days with Mel and Deane. And both days were late. We worked 5pm to 2am. Although Deane was off both days at 12am. Mel wasnt supposed to have worked at all on Monday. But I called ahead and our boss "J" said he would work her in. Thankful for that one. Otherwise she would have had to have killed 9 hrs alone in Franklin while I was working. Hum.
So back to this. Monday I spent the majority of the night moving around the section. The self improvement was a mess with the health and no order. So I had to spend the whole night moving it. We also got to meet our new assistant mgr "C" no its not our friend "C" and no offense but he is no "C". "C" was cool and he was from California and we shared a lot in common. The new "C" is okay though and nice at times. Still he is new and getting used to things...
Yeah. I spent the whole night moving. My arm had been hurting me all night, my poor left arm. But I did my best to "go really fast" as my boss said. It was near impossible to do what I was doing fast. And I got dizzy few times forgetting which set I was moving at the time. But I got it done. And at 1am I was done and ready to help shelve again this time with Julian and Mel. We did fict cart and so on and so on. Oh and our break Deane, Mel and me hit up Captain D's yup great food!
Tuesday August 25th. Mel is scheduled tonight this time and we are set to go! Our dinner later was Jack in the Box what fun with Deane again! Yeah! But first was shelving. This time around my left arm was so sore it took me ages to get the only cart I had done. I had to move and shelve all with one hand almost the whole night! But I got something done, most of the cart. I would have done more but from 9pm to 12am I was just fixing up the whole middle sections for the maybe visit the next day. I still dont know if it happened. It might have happened Wednesday OR Thursday OR not at all! Yeah I know....so that hurt me a lot. And I was bumned by nights end that my arm was still sore almost as when I came in. But it okay. From 12 to 1:30 I did shelving. And then at 1:30 to 2:20 we took out trash. We got out kinda late. It okay, I need the extra $$.
Okay I am bored. That was my last 3 days of the bookstore. I dont work as of present day at all this week. I hope that changes. I truly do. I need the $$. And cant wait to do the calendars. At least it will be hours and money that we need so bad. We need more money then we both make.
Till I work again, this is bookseller signing off. G'night.
